Seaquel Wetsuits Mercury Bay Open 2001

Date: 1/8/2001

The weather could not have been more perfect for Mercury Bay Spearfishing Club’s major competition of the year over Queen’s Birthday weekend. Thirty-three divers took part in this year’s event, from as far afield as Wellington and the Bay of Islands. On Saturday three clubs competed for the Mudgway trophy, an interclub trophy that has been around for 45 years. The Mercury Bay Club has held it for the last three years but faced challenges from the Blue Fins and Wild Blue clubs from Auckland. In the end local knowledge proved the key, with the Mercury Bay team first, Wild Blue second and Blue Fins third.

Final results: 1st Ed Arron/Pat Swanson (997), 2nd Ron Bakker/Phil Clow (883), 3rd Robin Thornton/Lance Baker (792), 4th Adam Clow/Julian Hansford (778), 5th Reid Quinlan/Jeremy Henderson (777), 6th Mark Rycroft/Nic Smith (770), 7th Graham Hope/John Bennett (735), 8th Herb/Jacinda Virbickas (704), 9th Ben Smith/Tim Foote (690), 10th Dave Hansen/Pete Hutchins (676).

scroll to top